Category: Politician   |   Website: PMLN Official   |   Phone: +92 51 2852661
Address: House # 20، 10 Street 10, F 8/3 F-8, Islamabad, Islamabad Capital Territory, Pakistan


The Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz) (Urdu: پاکستان مسلم لیگ (ن)‬‎ abbr. PML-N) is a centre-right conservative party in Pakistan. The party was recently in power until the appointment of an Interim Government led by Nasirul Mulk for the upcoming elections. It was led by the thrice-elected Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, until he was disqualified on the contempt of the apex Court in 2017. The party's platform is generally conservative,[6] which involves supporting free market capitalism, building a strong national defense, and opposing trade and labour unions.[6] One of several continuing factions of the original Muslim League,[7] the seeds of party were sown following the 1985 Elections when the Prime Minister Muhammad Khan Junejo organised the supporters of President Zia-ul-Haq's Dictatorship into a single party, known as Pakistan Muslim League. After President Zia's death in 1988, under the leadership of Fida Mohammad Khan, a large faction split away from the Junejo-led Pakistan Muslim League, and formed a conservative alliance with various right-wing and Islamist political parties, called the Islamic Democratic Alliance. The alliance formed a government in 1990 under the leadership of Nawaz Sharif. In 1993, the alliance dissolved and the party assumed its current shape, branding itself as the "Nawaz" faction of Pakistan Muslim League after its Leader in contrast to the "Junejo " faction

All Ratings